Reading Options

Illustration from Damayanti

Upon reviewing the reading options available for this class, I find my intrigue and my excitement growing. I am very excited about all the different possibilities for reading options. My goal is to read the public domain anthology version of the Ramayana; the possibility of viewing various styles and excerpts from different authors is very appealing to me, and the ability to access the anthology online is incredibly convenient. I have also decided that I want to view the Nine Ideal Indian Women book by Sunity Devee. I am a huge advocate for women’s rights and the representation of women in society, and I find it both inspiring and refreshing to read about strong-willed women in history. What an incredible opportunity to be able to read about women from another culture, especially one that I desire to experience someday.

I am already very pleased with the layout and scheduling flexibility of the class; as a drama major, I run on little sleep and a lot of hope, usually the hope that I will find free hours in my day to be able to do my homework (or sleep, often times I need to force myself to do that too). This class appeals to me for two reasons: one, I am fascinated by Indian culture, and India is, in fact, in my top three destinations I desire to visit in my lifetime; and two, I love to read and write, and this class gives me the artistic freedom to write what I like while learning about something that I find interesting.

I have always had an affinity for mythology. When I was younger, I knew some, but not much, about Greek mythology and Roman mythology because it was taught in my schooling. As I grew older, however, I found myself oddly fascinated by and immersed in Norse mythology. I cannot wait to now become immersed in Hindu traditions and Indian mythologies as well.

Rama and Sita 

Author’s Note:

I chose this image because I find great inspiration in the story of Rama and Sita. While I do not know much about it (yet), save the premise, I desire to know more about the female deities in Hinduism, and their stories.

Leave a Reply

